write what you’d like to read

16 Jun

Like the advice says, I would like to write the kind of novel I’d like to read.  Okay, but I like reading lots and lots and lots of kinds of novels.  I happen to have quite a few of those various kinds of reads in progress right now.  So I guess what I’d really like is to bring to the novel I write none of the scattershot attention with which I read novels.  Oh, and (while I’m at it) to write a novel that *you* (plural) would like to read.

One Response to “write what you’d like to read”

  1. Quixotic June 16, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    I think the important thing is that you write about what you know, too. I remember reading a fairly popular sci-fi horror type book that was made into a movie. The main character was a detective or something and carried a Glock 17. The author specifically identified the gun as a Glock 17. Many references were made through the book saying that the character would “click off the safety” in dangerous situations. I own a Glock 17. There is no external safety on a Glock 17. The only external safety is built into the trigger so if you add a little pressure, the gun is ready to fire. Nothing to “switch” on or off. This small fact ruined the entire book for me because it just bugged me beyond belief.

Leave a Reply

