the omniscient narrator’s staycation

21 Jul

In the spirit of beach read season, I’ve been doing some escapist writing. Oh, it’s the same old story, but I spent the last week seeing it through a new character’s eyes. Good times, until I decided it was time to go home and discovered I couldn’t get back inside my main character’s head.

I am back, though, as of today. Alas, every last bit of my baggage also arrived intact.

2 Responses to “the omniscient narrator’s staycation”

  1. amkuska July 21, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    That’s kind of interesting. Can you share a little bit more about what you did to get back in your character’s head?

  2. Shannon Anthony July 24, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Oh, I did gloss over that transition, didn’t I? But I didn’t actually do anything except recognize the moment when I found myself once more thinking like my main character. What was extra nice was that I could simultaneously understand how the new character would react to the main character. And there was subsequently much interacting.

Leave a Reply

