Accumulation

21 Dec

I feel like I’ve been writing up a storm for a while now. No, wait, those were actual storms. Good thing I have a lot of fondness for a lot of snow. And, lately, for a lot of writing. See me blog.

Without officially or exactly participating in NaNoWriMo last month, I did dedicate the month of November to producing a craptacular mass of novel manuscript. With anything longer than flash fiction, I make handwritten revisions on printed (and literally cut and pasted and post-it-ed) drafts, repeating as necessary. (I do try to be ecofriendly about it and print these drafts on the back of previously used paper.) So now I’ve got a binder full of crappy pre-novel to lug around with me, and for now at least that makes me very happy. For one thing, I’ve worked on the first several pages enough to feel that they at least are no longer crap.

And for another thing, writing, like life itself, is the journey, and it is a good feeling to have this binder full of paper to haul around. The extra weight really adds to my sense of accomplishment (as well as the degree of difficulty) every time I walk a mile in deep snow.

Leave a Reply

